Ministry responsible
The authorities in three distinct entities: the Transitional Federal Government, based in Mogadishu; the self-declared Republic of Somaliland in the north-west; and the semi-autonomous region of Puntland in the north-east.
Prison population total (including pre-trial detainees / remand prisoners)
* At least 3,700 and perhaps many more. There are an estimated 1,200 in the central prison in Mogadishu (United Nations Office of Drugs and Crime); in 2011 approximately 2,000 were held in Somaliland and 500 in one of the prisons of Puntland. In addition "observers estimated that thousands were incarcerated" by Al-Shabaab in the regions under its control (U.S. State Department human rights report).
Number of establishments / institutions
* Prisons include those located in Hargeisa, Somaliland, in Bosasso, Galkayo and Garowe, Puntland and in the Somali capital Mogadishu.